What are the Penalties for Assault in Tennessee?
The punishments for assault depend on whether the crime is considered “simple” or “aggravated.”
Simple assault can either be charged as a Class A or Class B misdemeanor. Class A misdemeanors are punishable by a maximum fine of $2,500 and up to 11 months and 29 days in jail. The penalty for a Class B misdemeanor is a fine of up to $500 and up to 6 months in jail.
Those who are convicted of aggravated assault will face harsher penalties. Aggravated assault can either be a Class C or D felony. As a Class C felony, the defendant will face 3 to 15 years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000. When aggravated assault is charged as a Class D felony, it carries a punishment of 2 to 12 years in prison and a maximum fine of $5,000.
Is Domestic Assault a Felony in Tennessee?
As with all other types of assault offenses, domestic assault can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony in Tennessee; it depends on the case's circumstances and the prosecutor's attitude. However, Tennessee takes a strong stand on behalf of victims of domestic violence, which can affect juror perception of anyone accused of the crime, even though all defendants are "innocent until proven guilty." You should contact an experienced defense attorney as soon as possible to protect your rights.
Contact Our Memphis Assault Attorney Today
If you have been charged with assault and are looking for legal assistance, turn to Francavilla Law Firm. Our Memphis assault attorney, Tim Francavilla, has your best interests in mind and can aggressively pursue the outcome that you deserve. Place your case in the hands of someone you know you can trust.
Contact Francavilla Law Firm today to schedule a FREE consultation with our assault lawyer in Memphis!