Memphis Domestic Violence Lawyer
One-to-One Attention from Start to Finish
Domestic violence charges should not be taken lightly. Even the least severe
charges can have a significant impact on a person’s life. If you
have been accused of
domestic violence, now is the time to seek aggressive legal representation.
Our Memphis domestic violence attorney, Tim Francavilla, has 25 years of
experience creating successful defense strategies to get our clients’
charges dropped or reduced. No matter the specific charges you are facing,
Attorney Tim Francavilla can help you pursue a favorable outcome.
Don’t overlook the seriousness of your Memphis domestic assault charges. Call
(901) 979-9992 or
send us a message online to obtain qualified legal counsel immediately.
What Constitutes Domestic Violence in Tenneesse?
Domestic violence includes any behavior that harms, humiliates, manipulates,
or injures a family or household member.
The offense can take many different forms and can be of a:
- Or psychological nature
When a person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury
to an individual in their family or household, causes them to reasonably
fear imminent bodily injury, or touches them in a manner that they find
extremely provocative or offensive, it can result in domestic assault charges.
In Tennessee, a family or household member includes:
- A current or former spouse of the offender
- A person with whom the offender previously resided
- An individual who is dating or previously dated the offender
- A person who is related to the offender by blood or adoption
- An individual who is or was related to the offender by marriage
- An adult or minor child of either the offender or a person who has one
of the above relationships with the offender
What Are the Penalties for Domestic Assault Charges in Memphis?
The penalties for domestic assault in Tennessee are the same as those for
general assault crimes. Domestic assault offenders will face the additional
consequences of losing the right to carry a firearm and being required
to pay a fine that funds the family violence shelter programs.
The punishments you can expect to face if convicted for domestic assault include:
Fines And Jail Time
When charged as a Class A or Class B misdemeanor, domestic assault is punishable
by up to 11 months and 29 days in jail and a maximum fine of $2,500.
If the domestic assault offense is considered to be “aggravated,”
the offender can be charged with a Class C or Class D felony, carrying
fines of up to $10,000 and a prison sentence of up to 2 to 15 years.
A conviction for domestic assault may also result in the offender paying
restitution to the victim for any expenses they have incurred as a result
of the crime.
This could include the cost of:
- Medical treatment
- Or repair of damaged property
A Criminal Record
A domestic assault conviction will become part of your permanent criminal
record. This means that if you are convicted later of another criminal
offense, you may suffer even harsher consequences than the first time.
You may have certain professional licenses revoked. In addition, you may
have difficulty in applying for housing or finding a job.